Type to search

Winners over the past decade

November 2018 Cover Story

Winners over the past decade

The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine has been awarded 109 times to 216 Nobel Laureates between 1901 and 2018. Here’s a list for the last 10 years.


Jeffrey C Hall, Michael Rosbash and Michael W Young

For discovering molecular mechanisms controlling the circadian rhythm


William C Campbell and Satoshi Ōmura

For discovering a novel therapy against infections caused by roundworm parasites and Youyou Tu For discovering a novel therapy against malaria


John O’Keefe, May-Britt Moser and Edvard I Moser

For discovering cells that constitute a positioning system in the brain


James E Rothman, Randy W Schekman and Thomas C Südhof

For discovering machinery regulating vesicle traffic, a major transport system in our cells


Sir John B Gurdon and Shinya Yamanaka

For discovering that mature cells can be reprogrammed to become pluripotent


Bruce A Beutler and Jules A Hoffmann

For discovering the activation of innate immunity and Ralph M Steinman For discovering the dendritic cell and its role in adaptive immunity


Robert G Edwards

For discovering the development of in vitro fertilization


Elizabeth H Blackburn, Carol W Greider, and Jack W Szostak

For discovering how chromosomes are protected by telomeres and the enzyme telomerase


Harald Zur Hausen

For discovering that human papillomaviruses cause cervical cancer and Françoise Barré-Sinoussi and Luc Montagnier For discovering human immunodeficiency

Previous Article

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *